Working with Spaces
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

In This Section...

About Spaces

Content in Confluence is organized into spaces. There are two types of spaces:

  • Global spaces are areas where you can post information with which you want groups of people to collaborate. These groups can be "everyone" or a "class" or some other predetermined list of participants. Global spaces are listed on the Dashboard.
  • Personal spaces belong to a specific user. Personal spaces are listed in the People Directory. They can be private or open, depending on how the owner sets them up. Every user can create a personal space.

Confluence treats each space as an independently managed wiki. What this means is that each space functions autonomously.  Each space:

  • Has its own pages, news, comments, bookmarks, and RSS feeds
  • Has its own access control settings which are set by the Space Administrator
  • Can be separately exported PDF, WORD, HTML or XML.

Permissions

Every space has its own independent set of permissions. Permissions can be assigned to specific group, registered users (those with a Colby username and password), and to users in the Anonymous group.

These are the different permissions that can be assigned at the space level:

  • View: user can view this space's content, including the space's details, and its pages and news items (blog posts)
  • Pages:
    • Create - user may create and edit pages in this space.
    • Export - user may export pages in this space.
    • Restrict - user may apply page level permissions.
    • Remove - user may remove pages in this space.
  • News (i.e. blog posts):
    • Create - user may post news items in this space.
    • Remove - user may remove news items in this space.
  • Comments:
    • Create - user may make comments in this space.
    • Remove - user may remove comments from this space.
  • Attachments:
    • Create - user may add attachments in this space.
    • Remove - user may remove attachm\ents from this space.
  • Mail:
    • Remove - user may delete individual mail items.
  • Space:
    • Export - user may export content from this space.
    • Admin - user has administrative permissions over this space.

Creating a Personal Space

1. Go to your name at the top of the page. (This is the 'User' menu. A dropdown list will appear when your cursor hovers over the 'User' menu.)

2. Select 'Create Personal Space' from the dropdown list. The 'Create Personal Space' view will open.

3. Enter a few details about your space:
     Choose who can view content.
     Choose who can contribute (create and edit) content. 

4. Choose a theme (look and feel) for your space:

 
5. Click the "Create" button
 
6. Your home page will be displayed:
 

Editing Your Profile

Go to your name at the top of the page. (This is the 'User' menu. A dropdown list will appear when your cursor hovers over the 'User' menu.)
Select 'Profile' from the dropdown list. The 'Profile' view will open.


 

On Your Profile You Can


  • View your personal details and photograph (optional).
  • Edit your personal details (name and email address).
  • Upload a profile picture (optional).
  • Change your password.
  • View your profile information: group membership, site preferences, email notification preferences, and user statistics (the date on which you signed up to the site, date of your last login, and the number of pages you have authored).
Network
  • View the recent activity of users that you are following via the Network view.
  • Follow other users from this view.
Status Updates
  • View your history of status updates.
Labels
  • View your personal labels.
Watches
  • View a list of the pages and spaces you are currently watching.
Drafts
  • Retrieve any pages you were in the process of editing.
Settings
  • Edit your General Settings (homepage, language and timezone).
  • Subscribe to email notifications.

Working with Spaces

Viewing Spaces

Once you login, the list of spaces you have permission to access is displayed on your Dashboard under the spaces section. If you do not login, you will be treated as an 'anonymous user' and only those spaces to which an anonymous user has 'View' permission will be displayed on the Dashboard. Permission to a space is granted by the Space Administrator.

The list of spaces is displayed under tabs :

  • My Spaces : Spaces you marked as favourites
  • New : New spaces added to the site in the last seven days.
  • All : All the spaces on the site.
  • Additionally, a list of personal spaces is available in the People Directory

Go to the Dashboard from any page on your site simply by clicking the logo beside the page title or via the breadcrumb list located at the top of every page.

You can use the "Spaces List" Macro to generate a list of spaces on any page in Confluence.

Enter {spaces-list} into the page
and a list will be generated on the page.

Browsing Spaces

You can browse a space from either the Dashboard or from inside the space itself by clicking on the "Browse Space" icon: located at the top of every page. The menu items of this view are:

Viewing and Editing Space Details


Managing Spaces

Space Activity

A log of each space's activity is available and provides information on:

  • How many pages and news posts have been viewed, added or edited
  • Which content has been most frequently viewed
  • Which content is most frequently edited
  • Which people are the most active contributors/editors of content
    To view a space's activity:
  1. Click on the "Browse Space" link
  2. Click "Activity"
    The number of pages and news posts that have been viewed, added and edited will be displayed graphically, showing trends over a period of time. The top 10 most popular and most active pages and/or news posts will be listed, with a link to each:

Moving Content

Confluence lets you move content easily between spaces.

Moving a Page From one Space to Another



Moving a Family of Pages From one Space to Another

To move a family of pages - a parent page and all child pages - follow the same procedure as above, only:

  1. Check the box titled "Move Children"
  2. Then Click "OK" 

Moving Attachments

You can move an attachment from its current location to any page within the same site.

Deleting a Space

Deleting a space permanently removes the space and all of its contents. To be safe, create an XML Space Backup before deleting a space. Once deleted, there is no way to recover a space unless you have made an XML backup.

Space Administration Menus

To view a Space Administration menu:

  1. Click on the "Browse Space" link
  2. Click on "Space Admin"

For a Global Space...



For a Personal Space


Labels
  • No labels